Picture
Paramount has decided to delay the release of their action sequel G.I. Joe: Retaliation from June 29, 2012 to March 29, 2013. Their reasoning? They plan on post-converting the movie to 3D and presumably did not want to (A) rush that process, and (B) have to go up against The Dark Knight Rises. This is understandable, but certainly very risky.

They did spend a ton of money on a Superbowl ad, and have had numerous TV spots for the movie as well. I don't understand why this decision was made so close to the release of the movie. Plus, I have to admit I've been looking forward to it. I was one of the minority that enjoyed G.I. Joe: Rise of the Cobra. When viewed purely as popcorn entertainment, it is a fun movie, and in my opinion, what the Transformers should have been. The action scenes between Ray Park's Snake Eyes and Byung-Hun Lee's Storm Shadow were particularly exciting. When you factor in that this new one has added in Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson, the closest thing we have to a Schwarzenegger-like action star nowadays, and Bruce Willis, it looked like it could end up being even more fun than the first. Plus the trailer has a much more dark, gritty feel than Rise of the Cobra.

Here is the trailer:

Looks pretty good right?
So what do you think about Paramount's decision to delay it's release by nine months?

-Jay



Leave a Reply.